NSW Women in Mining Awards finalists announced

February 06, 2018

7 February 2018

NSW Women in Mining Awards finalists announced

The NSW Minerals Council has announced the finalists for the 2018 Women in Mining Awards.

“Our Women in Mining Awards acknowledge highly skilled women making an important contribution to a successful NSW mining industry,” NSW Minerals Council CEO Stephen Galilee said today.

“Whether it be working directly in mining or in the many mining supplier businesses across NSW, many women are forging successful and rewarding careers in mining.”

“The contribution made by our finalists is very important to NSW. Coal, copper and gold are our state’s most valuable exports, so NSW relies on mining for our economic performance, and almost everyone in NSW relies on us every day for electricity generated by coal supplied to power stations across the state,” Mr Galilee said.

The finalists for this year’s NSW Women in Mining Awards are:

Exceptional Young Woman in Mining

Kristy Ann Christensen - South32 Illawarra Coal

Trudie Larnach - Port Waratah Coal Services

Gender Diversity Champion in NSW Mining

Deirdra Tindale - BHP

Stephanie Gelland - Peabody Energy Australia, Metropolitan Mine

Excellence in Diversity Programs and Performance in NSW

Diversity and Inclusion at GHD - GHD

Mt Arthur Coal Mine Trainee Operator Program - BHP

Outstanding Tradeswoman/Operator/Technician

Catherine Simmons - BHP, Mt Arthur Coal Mine

Megan Gregory - South32 Illawarra Coal, Dendrobium Coal Preparation Plant

Hana Louise Newbury - Peabody Energy Australia, Wilpinjong Coal Mine

Exceptional Woman in Mining

Tracy Hennig - BHP, Mount Arthur Coal Mine

Kirsten Gollogly - Whitehaven Coal

Nicole Brook - Glencore Coal Assets Australia

“All finalists are highly skilled women working in the NSW mining industry. We’re proud these awards are able to highlight the amazing contribution women are making in our workforce in NSW,” Mr Galilee said.

The full list of finalists can be found at http://www.nswmining.com.au/getmedia/16b762dd-ff50-4490-99a5-b2f48a13593c/WIM-I-S-Award-Entry-Summaries-(1)

Contact: Harry Stutchbury | hstutchbury@nswmining.com.au | 0409 758 734 | 02 9274 1419


More News

Opinion: Mining scholarships on offer to stu..

February 17, 2014

Applications for the 2014 NSW Mining Scholarships program are currently open to eligible schools.

The Hon. Chris Hartcher resignation

December 04, 2013

The NSW Minerals Council thanks the former NSW Resources Minister, the Hon. Chris Hartcher for his valuable support of the NSW m...

NSW Minerals Council extends partnership wit..

March 21, 2018

The NSW minerals industry will extend its partnership with the Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service for a further three years with ...

Sign up for more information and Updates from NSW Mining