NSW Mining 2017 Industry and Suppliers’ Award Winners Announced

April 07, 2017

Representatives of the mining industry and supplier businesses from across NSW tonight joined with MPs from across the NSW Parliament at the 2017 Industry and Suppliers Awards Dinner.
NSW Deputy Premier and Minister for Skills and Small Business, The Hon John Barilaro, welcomed all to the dinner, praising the contribution the NSW mining industry and its thousands of mining supplier businesses make to the NSW economy and local communities. 
NSW Minister for Resources, Energy, Utilities and the Arts, The Hon Don Harwin MLC delivered the keynote address, focusing on the importance of mining in fostering the growth and strength of regional communities. Minister Harwin also highlighted the critical importance of the mining industry to the NSW economy. 
The Industry & Suppliers Awards, presented by Minister Harwin, recognised excellence in the sector and emphasised the continued importance of the supply chain to the industry.
“Our Industry and Suppliers’ Awards highlights the vital role mining plays in NSW, particularly our economic contribution.  We had some outstanding entries for the awards this year, reflecting the quality of our State’s world class mining sector. ” NSW Minerals Council CEO Stephen Galilee said following the Awards.
“Whether it be those working directly in mining, or others employed in the many mining supplier businesses across NSW, tens of thousands of people rely on our industry for jobs and the economic opportunities it delivers.” 
Industry and Supplier Award Winners:
Category: Small Business Achievement
WINNER: Mine Subsidence Engineering Consultants (MSEC)
Category: Outstanding Supplier
Category: Mining Operation of the Year
WINNER: Evolution - Cowal Gold Mine
Category: Young Achiever
WINNER: Murray O’Keefe - Acting Mining Superintendent,  Whitehaven Coal, Maules Creek
Category: Outstanding Contribution to Mining
WINNER: David Moult - Managing Director and CEO, Centennial Coal
Category: Exceptional Woman in Mining
WINNER: Kirsten Molloy - CEO, HVCCC
Category: Exceptional Young Woman in NSW Mining
WINNER: Chloe Piggford - Environment and Community Manager, Glencore Integra Underground Mine
Category: Outstanding NSW Tradeswoman/Operator/Technician
WINNER: Jemma Callaghan - Mobile Equipment Operator/Trainer Assessor, Rio Tinto Coal & Allied, Mt Thorley Warkworth Mine
Category: Gender Diversity Champion in NSW Mining
WINNER: Fiona Robertson - Non-Executive Director, Heron Resources
Contact: Harry Stutchbury | hstutchbury@nswmining.com.au | 0409 758 734 | 02 9274 1419

More News

OPINION: Coal - things are looking up

August 02, 2016

NSW Mining CEO Stephen Galilee in the Newcastle Herald on the resurgence of coal

Mining communities on track to receive criti..

January 28, 2014

Key infrastructure projects in NSW mining regions, like improvements to the Denman Children’s Centre, and Muswellbrook and Singl...

NSW mining companies inject $10.7 billion in..

February 18, 2019

The NSW Minerals Council’s latest annual member company Expenditure Survey has found that the 28 participating mining companies ...

Sign up for more information and Updates from NSW Mining